ALBA condemns "aggressive US policy"


The XVII Summit of Heads of State of the Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America (ALBA-TCP) culminated this Saturday with a declaration against the destabilizing attempts of the United States against Latin American governments.

The ALBA countries condemned “the aggressive and interventionist policy of the United States government,” which they considered one of the main causes of instability in the Latin American region.

At the close of the Summit, the focus was on the role that the United States has played in Latin America during the last months, in view of which the ALBA expressed total rejection of the Monroe Doctrine and demanded respect for basic principles of foreign policy such as self-determination of peoples and non-interference.

The ALBA made reference to the US statements during the recent historical episodes that have occurred in the region, such as the coup d'etat against Evo Morales in Bolivia, the political conflict in Venezuela and social protests in countries such as Nicaragua, Ecuador and Haiti.

In addition, he denounced that the policies of the United States against Cuba are totally opposed to what is established in the Charter of the United Nations and condemned the Inter-American Treaty of Reciprocal Assistance (TIAR) that mainly affects Venezuela.

At the close of the seventh edition of the ALBA summit, member countries also highlighted the achievements made by the alliance such as the literacy program, the miracle mission, the program for the care of people with disabilities and PetroCaribe.

The speech that ended the meeting celebrated the accession of Antigua and Barbuda as a member of the Bank of ALBA and called for unity against interventionism and coup.

The ALBA was formed in 2004 as an international organization that has managed to integrate Latin American and Caribbean countries such as Venezuela, Cuba, Bolivia, Antigua and Barbuda, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica.

In addition, it has two special guests (Suriname and Saint Lucia) and three observer countries: Haiti, Iran and Syria, with whom ALBA has established diplomatic and commercial relations.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here